Arts & Features

New friends vs old friends

friendscleojpg

When I look back at high school, I don’t remember textbooks, science classes or exams. I remember my three closest friends, Chloe, Shannon and Emily, the stupid nicknames we had for each other and our mutual crush on actor Devon Sawa.

W
hen I look back at high school, I don’t remember textbooks, science classes or exams. I remember my three closest friends, Chloe, Shannon and Emily, and recall the stupid nicknames we had for each other, the endless list of “in” jokes and our mutual crush on actor Devon Sawa.
But, after university, boyfriends, gap years and divergent career paths, the many things we once had in common are now outweighed by our differences. T

But, after university, boyfriends, gap years and divergent career paths, the many things we once had in common are now outweighed by our differences. That’s not to say we always saw eye-to-eye at high school, we were just careful not to deviate too much from the status quo, for fear of becoming a social outcast.

Shannon recalls the time she declared she wanted a Brazilian and how her wish to be hairless resulted in humiliation, while my interest in politics and love of Bob Dylan had my friends worrying I would eventually stop having my underarms. But apart from these small differences, the four of us walked to the same beat.

These days, my friendships with those girls are an entirely different story.

Read more:

View pdf

CLEO magazine, January 2009

Leave a Reply

